This topic contains 3 replies, has 1,797 voices, and was last updated by  Kris 8 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Kris

I am looking for a product that will allow me to send faxes via multiple phone lines from Canada to Hong Kong without incurring any long distance charges.

Please let me know if you have know of products that will allow me to do this. I am very new to VOIP and not really sure how it works, so any and all information would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Kris

mevanisko

Kris this can definitely be done using VoIP for much cheaper.

You would basically need FXS lines at each location, the number of lines dependent on your number of FAX lines.

I would suggest getting an Audiocodes FXS gateway, or a Grandstream FXS gateway at each location.

Audiocodes: Audiocodes Gateway

Grandstream: Grandstream Gateway

Kris

Hi Mike:

Thank you for your reply. What is the difference FXS lines and a regular phone line?

Please let me know.

Thank you,

Kris

mevanisko

FXO (Foreign Exchange Office)

When a customer receives phone service from a central office other than the one that would normally serve them, the line between the customer and the “Foreign” office is called a “Foreign Exchange” line.

FXO (Foreign eXchange Office) is the office end of the line, and FXS (Foreign eXchange Station) is the station end.

FXO and FXS are also used to refer to the type of interface on phone equipment.

* An FXS interface provides power (battery) and generates ring signals.
    * An FXO interface receives power (battery) and receives ring signals.

If you want to connect an ordinary telephone to a computer, you need a card in the computer with an FXS interface.

If you want to connect a line to your computer so that it can make and answer calls on your analog PSTN telephone line, you need to add an FXO interface to your computer.

That description is courtesy of http://www.voip-info.org